Reporter

Administrator
A Rant on the Current State of TF2
To preface - I have been playing this game since 2012. I bought and played the original Orange Box for the Xbox years ago. I've been playing almost all Source-based games my entire life. I love this game to death, and it is pretty much the only game I play consistently now.

#Casual

I don't understand the removal of Quickplay. Originally, I could just click a few buttons and there are all the maps, listed with ping and everything. I could join a server with decent ping and the map I want to play. Now I click a button, wait +-20 minutes and either get matched into a server with decent ping or a server with a ping of 100ms+.

I can bypass this issue by setting a few cvars, but I shouldn't have to do this. The average TF2 player or F2P isn't aware about them. I should not have to pick up after Valve.

Valve could have easily just implemented Casual and kept Quickplay. I know TF2 has plenty of servers.

I also think everyone completely forgot about Robot Destruction and Cactus Canyon. Valve silently removed those two maps, one of which (RD) has been in development since summer of fucking 2014. I also know about a small community that plays exclusively on RD, so Valve also probably destroyed a small community in the process if a Community server doesn't exist that hosts RD (I haven't seen one at all.)

#Community Servers

This is more personal, but it's still a rant. It is really fucking hard to find a server similar to a Valve server. I have to find a server that:

- Isn't a 24/7 map
- Doesn't disable the "wait" command
- Doesn't have obnoxious plugin spam
- Doesn't spam shit on-screen
- Isn't full consistently (looking at you, Skial)
- Has the desired map
- Doesn't have >90 ping
- **Fucking kick me for cl_disablehtmlmotd 1**
- Spam Pinion shit in my face
- Randomly spam the MOTD in-game