Orthros

Somewhat Threatening Sniper
(Originally posted in the normal TF2 Forum. I moved it to here once I noticed that we actually have a Suggestions page. My bad.)

Alright, so I've been playing Skial quite a lot lately, and I think it's time I made this. Medic here is... I'm not really sure how to word it... He's balanced, but in a "really stupidly overpowered in these things but weak as hell in these things" kinda way. Does that makes sense?

Before I go any farther, I'd like to point out that I've been playing TF2 since late 2010. I have over 6,700 total hours, I play steel level competitive Medic (and Roaming Soldier, but that doesn't matter) and have 230 hours on him (as my 5th most played class). I've played 2500+ hours on VSH at minimum. I average 3-5k damage (not including damage harvested from other players) and 4k+ healing per round. Pardon my lack of modesty, but I think it's fair to say that I'm one of the best Medics on Skial's VSH servers. That in mind, here are my thoughts on how the class should (and, frankly, needs) to be changed.

Medics are strong. Their Heal Rates are untouched, but they are able to Overheal their healing targets to a massive 100% max HP. This comes to a head with the Heavy, who gets 600 HP. He takes three hits to kill, and even then is only 7 health shy of surviving that third (Boss deals 202 damage per hit, not including variants). Soldiers are powerful too, not to mention demomen. And to top it all off, every class, even light classes, can survive a hit if buffed above 180% (barring BFB scouts or other variants.)

That is stupidly powerful. A Medic with half a brain can literally carry a team just by sitting in a corner and healing anyone that comes close (in theory). Don't even get me started on the crossbow.

But he has two drawbacks that completely cripple him if exploited: No specialized movement, and no way to defend himself barring uber.