Help Me! looking for a way to troubleshoot netwerk

Discussion in 'Technology' started by HowIMetYourMother, Mar 31, 2018.

1. HowIMetYourMother

HowIMetYourMother Gaben's Own Aimbot Contributor

I'm looking for a way to troubleshoot a slow wifi. I'm a complete noob when it comes to this.
    I'm on a wifi connection, and i think i'm too far away from the router but the signalstenght is always full (?)
    Some things i have noticed:
    -i have a decent download speed (13 Mbps is not the best but it'll do), and my ping is fine too when i test it but when i start up a game or browser it's beyond usable.
    - https://imgur.com/a/nYaoU my send and recieve keep dropping to zero for some reason?

How do i troubleshoot this, or do i just get a powerlan? Any help is welcome.

• Dumb Dumb x 1
  2. ckswarey the adware

ckswarey the adware Face-Melting F2Per

Steam:

What’s your provider for your wi fi

• Dumb Dumb x 1
  3. chuckwagon

chuckwagon TF2 Admin Contributor

Steam:

What model router/WAP do you have? Have you checked to see if your wireless adapter needs a driver update?

Another thought- it’s possible you are getting intermittent interference from another electronic device.

4. HowIMetYourMother

-it's called BBOX 2, provided by "belgacom" , one of the main ISP's in belgacom. The drivers are fully up to date
    -How do i check (in a simple manner) if i get interference? I tried some tools like wireshark but knowing nothing about all the terms used i don't really get information because i simply don't understand.

• Informative Informative x 1
  5. chuckwagon

Steam:

Try changing you router to 802.11g only mode

You will need to telnet into your router.

Code:
    rg_conf_set dev/eth2/wl_ap/wl_dot11_mode "g_only"

6. HowIMetYourMother

It's already on that option, also checked the channels if they don't have interference. Thanks for helping tho!

7. Vodka4Gaben

Vodka4Gaben Gore-Spattered Heavy

Steam:

Or Maybe you could just switch to proximus....